About Me

I graduated from California State University, Long Beach with my Master’s of Social Work degree in 2002 and was a proud member of Phi Alpha Honor’s Society.  I also began working on my Doctorate of Psychology (PsyD) in 2012 and graduated Magna Cum Laude in August 2014.

My course work in social work encompassed a framework of mulitcultural diversity, with an emphasis on children, youth, and families.  I also completed additional course work and internships to earn a Pupil Personnel Services Credential (PPS) which specializes in School Social Work and Child Welfare and Attendance.

My internships mostly consisted of therapy with children and adolescents in their school setting, as well as family counseling and group therapy.  I have experience working with severly emotionally disturbed (SED) youth, ADD/ADHD, incarcerated teens as well as teen parents.  I have run therapy groups on social skills, team-building skills, process groups, and conflict resolution groups.

I completed my undergraduate studies at the University of California, Irvine where I earned a Bachelor’s of Science in Biological Sciences in 1999. I was originally a pre-med student and have held jobs in the medical field.   This unique blend of biology and social work education and training has given me the ability to apply these areas in my treatment as a therapist and understand different physiological factors affecting psychological problems.

After earning my MSW degree, I completed my pre-licensure hours working in a psychiatric hospital as a psychiatric social worker, where I stayed until 2006.  Here I worked with the mentally ill population and gained an invaluable education regarding symptomology and pharmacology.  There, I started out working in the adolescent unit and quickly moved throughout the different adult units, finally ending up with a full time position on the adult ICU or “acute” unit and geriatric unit.  My duties included discharge planning, finding placements for mentally ill adults and geriatrics, as well as group therapy.

I have experience working with the developmentally disabled population and welcome them into my private practice.

I have been married since 2006 and can certainly understand some of the challenges of marriage and long term relationships.

I consider myself an active person and value physical activity combined with relaxation in daily life.   I practice yoga and tend to incorporate the lifestyle and teachings of yoga into therapy whenever appropriate to do so.  I also enjoy bike riding, gardening, hiking, going to the movies, and playing with my pets, to name a few more.